You Can Make Your Own Awesome Shark Costume too! (+ vote for our photo)

My first diy project to share!

Reason for Shark Costume: I am having a traditional chinese wedding banquet dinner which consists of about 10 courses and one of those traditional dishes is Shark Fin soup.  After meeting a local organization in Vancouver called Shark Truth and learning about the devastating impact of shark finning we decided to pledge to not serve shark fin soup at our wedding to help protect sharks. Shark fin soup is pushing this important group of species to extinction. Each ten bowls of shark fin can kill an entire shark. The shark finning industry is also very cruel and wasteful. Sharks are often caught and finned alive, then their bodies are dumped back into the ocean, leaving them to drown to death.

2011 Shark Truth Wedding Couple Photo Contest
They are currently holding a contest for wedding couples that do this pledge where couples submit a photo and the photo with the most votes by June 6 win a trip to Hawaii to cage dive with sharksSo my fiance and I decided to make a shark costume! (instructions at the end).   If you like my costume and photo please help us out and vote for our entry:

Vote for our entry by:
(1) First  “like” the  Shark Truth page here:
 http://facebook.com/sharktruth
(2) Then “Like” our photo on their 2011 contest album: Jenny+Andrew photo

Our photo:. We Heart Sharks. Vancouver hearts Sharks. Andrew Hearts Shark and Jenny

SHARK COSTUME:
CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD Shark Costume Instructions
I love my costume so I decided to share it with others by making instructions. You can make your own shark costume too by using my instructions as a guide.

14 thoughts on “You Can Make Your Own Awesome Shark Costume too! (+ vote for our photo)

  1. To be honest, when I saw this on craftgawker I thought it had something to do with the Vancouver Canucks playing the San Jose Sharks in the Stanley Cup playoffs haha

    • ha yes, the timing of the stanley cup playoffs and this kinda matched up (not planned!)
      thanks for taking a look, i hope you like it. I hope to post more projects as I do them :)

      Please help spread the word and vote for my photo on facebook too if you would like. – thanks
      -Jen

  2. Pingback: Bowls, spoons and a drumroll please… – Shark Truth

  3. Hi,

    I’m not sure if there is any chance you will get this… but I LOVE this costume and the tutorial. I am a Kindergarten teacher in the bay area and I’m looking to make a shark Halloween costume and this is perfect! I’m not sure if there is any way this will reach you, but I have a few questions about the costume and one second of your time would be great! My email is ——– Thank yo SO much for posting this.

  4. Hi! Just wanted to let you know that I made this costume for my boyfriend for this year’s Halloween, and it was a HUGE hit! I have never made a costume from scratch, and I don’t even have a sewing machine, so thanks for posting such easy, clear directions (with pictures)!

    • that’s awesome :) wow you don’t even have a sewing machine and you made it all – that’s so great :) would love to see the costume and I hope your boyfriend enjoyed it too

Leave a Reply

